Support Us

Ukraine and 8 other states join in extending EU sanctions against Russia

Monday, 8 April 2024, 21:59
Ukraine and 8 other states join in extending EU sanctions against Russia
Stock photo: Getty Images

Ukraine and eight other European countries have joined the decision of the Council of the EU to extend sanctions against individuals and entities for violating Ukraine's sovereignty and territorial integrity.

Source: European Pravda citing a statement of High Representative Josep Borrell on behalf of the EU

Details: The Council of the EU decided to extend the sanctions regime on 12 March 2024 for another six months, until 15 September 2024. The sanctions include travel restrictions for individuals, as well as freezing of assets and a ban on the provision of funds to individuals and legal entities.


The Council also decided not to renew the sanctions against three individuals and to remove nine deceased persons from the list. 

Sanctions against more than 2,100 individuals and entities remain in place.

This decision has been recently joined by North Macedonia, Montenegro, Albania, Ukraine, Moldova, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. These countries will ensure that their national policies are in line with this decision of the Council of the EU.


"The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it," the statement said.

The EU's personal sanctions in connection with Russia's aggressive war against Ukraine were first introduced in 2014 and have been regularly extended since then.

Support UP or become our patron!