Support Us

Occupiers block Ukraine's gas supply to Luhansk and Donetsk regions

Wednesday, 11 May 2022, 12:56

Wednesday, 11 May, 2022, 12:46 PM

The Russian occupiers have blocked the taps of the Shebelinka-Novopskov main gas pipeline without authorization, leaving the residents of the Luhansk and Donetsk regions without a Ukrainian gas supply.

This was announced by the head of the gas transportation system of Ukraine Serhiy Makogon.


He emphasised that in the Russian Federation that morning Gazprom had stopped transporting gas to the Sokhranivka distribution station.

In addition, in the occupied territories of Ukraine, the valves of the Shebelinka-Novopskov gas pipeline, which transported gas to the pipelines of Luhansk and Donetsk regions, were blocked without authorization.

"In fact, the representatives of the aggressor deprived Ukraine of the possibility of transporting gas to consumers in Luhansk and Donetsk regions," he said. "The authorities of the Russian Federation bear full responsibility for the humanitarian consequences of such actions."



On Wednesday, at 11:00 a.m., the Ukrainian Gas Transportation System (GTSU) stopped accepting gas for transit to the Sokhranivka Gas Distribution Station, through which a third of Ukraine's transit to the EU passes, due to the actions of the Russian occupiers. The GTSU proposed moving Sokhranivka to the Sudzha station, which is located on territory controlled by Ukraine, but Gazprom refused.